Uganda: UPDF to Elect Representatives Today

By Risdel Kasasira

The Uganda People's Defence Forces will today elect its 10 representatives in parliament at the headquarters of the Land Forces in Bombo.

The UPDF Council, which elects the army representatives, will first meet at 2pm before the voting starts later in the afternoon.

"Today is the election of the 10 Members of Parliament representing the army. All is set from our side to organise the election and the winners will be announced before the end of the day," the Electoral Commission Spokesperson, Mr Jotham Taremwa said.

President Museveni who is in Arusha, Tanzania for the East African Community Heads of State Summit is expected to arrive today and move to Bombo to chair the Army Council meeting at 2pm before the voting starts.

The current representatives for the UPDF in parliament include: The late Gen Aronda Nyakairima, Lieutenant General Charles Angina, Brig. Phinehas Manoni Katirima, Gen Katumba Wamala, Capt Lakot Susan, Gen Elly Tumwine, Maj Sarah Mpabwa, Maj Gen Oketta Julius Facki, Brigadier Innocent Felix Oula and Maj. Gen. Jim Owesigyire.

Source: All Africa


Economists Say Coronavirus Will Slam African Economies

ADDIS ABABA – As the coronavirus spreads across Africa, countries are taking stronger measures to curb its spread. The restrictions may contain the virus, but will likely have a deep impact on the continent’s economies. With several African governme…

Solve IT! 2020 – A Year of Smarter Solutions

Solve IT 2020, a nationwide innovation competition to encourage young Ethiopians to address community issues through the application of software, hardware and other technologies, launched on March 11, 2020. The third in a series of competitions, Solve …