DAR ES SALAAM, President Yoweri Museveni has assumed the chair of the East African Community (EAC), at the 18th Ordinary Summit of the of the Heads of State at Dar es Salaam State House, taking over the EAC chairperson seat from Tanzania's John Pombe Magufuli.

One of the highlights of the summit was the swearing-in of top new officials; a deputy secretary general and a judge of the East African Court of Justice.

Eng. Stephen Mulote of Tanzania was sworn in as a new deputy secretary general, replacing Dr Enos Bukuku who had served in the position for six years.

Sworn in to take a place on the bench of the East African Court of Justice was Dr Charles Oyo Nyawelo of South Sudan, who joins the 1st Instant Division of the court.

Dr Nyawelo has been the president of the High Court in Juba since 2006.

The summit also recognized and rewarded students who excelled in the East African Secondary School Student Essay competition.

The summit also endorsed the transformation of the EAC into a Common Higher Education Area, setting the stage for harmonization of higher education in the region.

The Executive Director of the Inter University Council, Prof Alexandre Lyambabje, said the initiative will grant equal education opportunities to all students across the region in terms of mobility and employability.


Related Post
YOKOHAMA � The United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) today welcomed the announcement of a
Brenda Katwesigye traveled thousands of kilometers from Uganda in eastern Africa to Austin, Texas with
MBALE, UGANDA-- Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni has launched an industrial park jointly developed by Chinese

Comments are closed.