Uganda: Anti-Pornography Committee Redundant

Members of anti-pornography committee appointed by Cabinet in April have not received appointment letters, Daily Monitor has learnt.

A committee member said since their appointment three months ago, they have not been informed about what is going on and when they will start work. The State minister for Ethics and Integrity, Fr Simon Lokodo, told Daily Monitor yesterday that the committee cannot commence its work without money.

Fr Lokodo said: "The Cabinet approved them, so we are only waiting for money. If Parliament releases money today, we can start work tomorrow."

The committee is chaired by Dr Anette Kezaabu Kasimbazi.

Committee members include Dr Martin Sempa, Mr Dalton Opwonya, Mr Mohammed Ali Waiswa, Ms Joan Kyomugisha.

Others are Mr Gastone Byamugisha, Ms Hafisa Kabagonja, Ms Victoria Sentamu and Mr Fred Nyakori.

In April, Fr Lokodo tabled a proposal before Parliament requesting for Shs2.6b to procure a pornography detecting software.

The Act

Section 3 of the Anti-Pornography Act 2014 provides for the establishment of the pornography control committee. Its functions include early detection and prohibition of pornography, ensuring that perpetrators of pornography are apprehended and prosecuted, collecting and destroying pornography materials and educating the public against pornography.

Source: The Monitor.

Leave a Reply


Tribes Urge Treasury to Quickly Disburse Coronavirus Relief Funding

FLAGSTAFF, ARIZONA – Tribes urged the federal government to quickly disburse coronavirus relief funding after a judge handed them an early victory in a case centered on who is eligible for a share of the $8 billion allocated to tribes. U.S. District Judge Amit Mehta in Washington, D.C., ruled in favor of the tribes late […]

Ugandan HIV-Positive Volunteer Goes Distance to Deliver ARVs

KAMPALA, UGANDA – Amid a three-week suspension of public and private transport in Uganda due to the coronavirus, some HIV-positive Ugandans have struggled to get hold of needed antiretroviral medications. Noticing a higher risk for HIV patients with compromised immune systems, health worker Simon Bukenya jumped on his bicycle and began making home deliveries, even […]