Trademark East Africa Picks New Board (

Regional business lobby TradeMark East Africa has picked new board of directors and appointed former World Trade Organisation director Pascal Lamy as special advisor. The 11 member board will be chaired by Tanzania’s Ali Mufuruki.

Others members are Kenya’s Patricia Ithau, Earl Gast and Matt Reitz of USA, Rwandese Rosette Chantal Rugamba, Jaqueline Lutaya of Uganda, Patrick Obath and Anthony Masozera from Burundi. The team was picked from more than 500 applicants from East Africa.

TMEA previously operated with a statutory board provided mostly by service organisations. The new team incorporates members from the EAC region and is expected to give unbiased feedback on performance of TMEA to management.