Sports scribes urged to stick to work ethics

KAMPALA. Reverend Father Nicholas Kayongo was the main celebrant as Uganda Sports Press Association (Uspa) members prayed for the souls of their fallen colleagues at Christ the King Church yesterday.
Rev Fr Kayongo urged Uspa members and sports scribes in general to stick to the core values of journalism as they execute their duties. “The people we are remembering today were professionals in the way they executed their work,” the reverend said in reference to Francis Batte, Kenneth Matovu, Simon Peter Ekarot and Leo Kabunga, who perished in a motor accident in Lugazi.
He added: “They were exemplary and I encourage you to always emulate them as sports journalists.” “But also we shouldn’t fear death because it’s the only way we will meet our creator. We just need to make sure we are ready when that time comes.”
Uspa founding member Frederick Ssekitto later preached unity, both in life and after death.
“Death can’t be avoided but we just need to keep the solidarity in life and in death. That’s why we pray for the souls of our brothers and sisters annually,” Ssekitto said. Uspa will on Saturday hold a road safety campaign and reconstruct a monument in Lugazi, which was erected in memory of the foursome scribes. The monument was destroyed by wind a few months ago.
With support from City Tyres and Standard Chartered Bank, Uspa will also stage a soccer tournament featuring bodaboda riders and taxi drivers.


Minister Shahid sends Independence Day greetings to Uganda

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Maldives, His Excellency Abdulla Shahid has extended greetings and felicitations to the Government and the people of Uganda on the occasion of its Independence Day, in a message to His Excellency Sam K…

Lady Cranes plot to soar to the top

The Lady Cranes will be competing for a slot in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics this weekend in Jemmal, Tunisia during the Women’s Qualifiers that doubles up as the Africa Women’s 7s Championship on 12th and 13th October. Lady Cranes, who were last year’s run…