Smiles, chaos as NRM elects new leaders


The NRM party grassroots leaders elected their new district leaders on Thursday, with some old guard leaving the stage for new entrants.
In Masaka District, Masaka
District Land Board chairperson Peter Ssenkungu was re-elected as NRM chairperson after beating Gerald Ddungu Tabula with 178 votes against 135.

Former Masaka Municipality MP Francis Kizza Mujobe was elected NRM district secretary after defeating Masaka Municipality deputy speaker, Hajji Noor Njuki. Mr Mujobe garnered 160 votes, while Mr Njuuki collected 143 votes.

Hajjat Madina Matovu retained the seat of the party deputy district chairperson after polling 182 votes, beating her closest competitor Betty Nakyanzi, who scored 158 votes.

Hajj Haruna Numba retained his post as NRM party district publicity secretary following a tight contest in which he won with 132 votes to beat Dan Dembe with 131 votes and Juuko Ssebugwao with 51 votes.

Hajj Umar Ssebulime, the Masaka region NRM administrator, said they cancelled the women elections after receiving complaints from candidates.

“We shall organise fresh elections for women. Youth elections which were not held, will also be conducted on the same day,” he added.

In Luweero and Nakaseke districts, veteran politicians Hajj Abdul Nadduli and Mr Amos Ssempala Kigozi withdrew from the contest, giving way to new entrants.

Mr Muhamad Gubya won a tight race against Mr Edward Ssengonzi Damulira for Nakaseke District NRM chairperson seat with 328 votes. Mr Ssengonzi polled 196 votes. In Luweero District, Mr Ronald Ndawula was declared winner with 314 votes, while Mr Ali Ssekyanzi Ndaula and Ms Carol Nalubega got 78 and 14 votes, respectively.

In Mpigi District, Amelia Kyambadde, the Minister of Trade, Industry and Cooperative bowed out and backed John Bosco Lubyayi, who polled 85 votes against his rival, Maria Nanyombi who got zero.

In Kalangala District, Kyamuswa County MP Tim Lwanga lost to Kalangala Town Council chairperson Hajj Sulait Lutaakome. Lwanga garnered 98 votes against Lutaakome’s 131 votes.

In Lwengo District, electoral officials failed to declare the winner between Hajj Muhammad Mbabaali and Mulindwa Birimumaso after their supporters disrupted the tallying. Police fired teargas and dispersed the supporters from the tally centre on Thursday night.

Others elected

District No. of votes
John Bosco Lubyayi 85
Maria Nanyombi O
Thembo Nyombi 210
Godfrey Mukwaya 50
Nora Mbabazi 48
Tumusiime Kisanya 4
Faisal Kikulukunyu 166
Suleiman Lwanga 9
Godfrey Seguya 1
Enock Kato 200
Ismail Walusimbi 49
Christopher Nkoyoyo 278
Robert Muwonge 118
Dickens Kitakule 22
Haruna Kasolo 373
Mathias Kasamba 148
Pius Mujjuzi 137
Twahil Ssebagala (unopposed)

Complied by Fahdi M Jjingo, Henry Lubulwa and Sadat Mbogo


President Museveni calls for Increased Commercial Agriculture

President Yoweri Museveni has called on wananchi in the country to intensify commercial agriculture. The President made the call today at St. George’s Core Primary Teachers’ College in Ibanda District as Uganda marked the 34th NRM/NRA victory day anniv…