New MPs take oath

Two more legislators have taken oath, bringing the total number of members in the 10th Parliament to 458.

Hon Abrahams Peter Lokii (NRM, Kotido Munic.) and Hon. Asuman Basalirwa (Justice Forum, Bugiri Munic.) took oath during the plenary sitting chaired by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga on Tuesday, 14 August 2018. Elections for the two seats and another five new municipalities were held on 27 July 2018.

The MPs swore to be faithful and bear true allegiance to the Republic of Uganda and to preserve, protect and defend the Constitution.

Kadaga welcomed the MPs to the House and handed each of them a copy of the Constitution and the Parliament Rules of Procedure.

I welcome you to the 10th Parliament and wish you well. I hand you the instruments of office, the Constitution and Rules of Procedure, which will guide you while carrying out your duties in this house, the Speaker said.

Basalirwa's win gives Justice Forum its only seat in Parliament since the departure of Hussein Kyanjo (Makindye West) in 2016.

In 2015, Parliament passed a resolution for the creation of new municipalities which subsequently led to the election of the MPs.

Seven municipalities became effective at the start of the 2016 financial year; these were Ibanda (in Ibanda district), Njeru (in Buikwe district), Apac (in Apac district), Nebbi (in Nebbi district), Bugiri (in Bugiri district), Sheema (in Sheema district) and Kotido (in Kotido district). All representatives of these municipalities have now taken oath.

The 10th Parliament now has two vacancies in Arua Municipality and Sheema North.

Source: Parliament of Uganda

Related Post
As the deadly Ebola virus outbreak in the Democratic Republic of Congo continues, with the
As the deadly Ebola virus outbreak in the Democratic Republic of Congo continues, with the
H.E. the Vice President,Rt. Hon. Speaker,His Lordship, the Chief Justice,Rt. Hon. Prime Minister,Rt. Hon. Deputy

Comments are closed.