Nemostars, VVC book places in continental tournament

FORT PORTAl- Vision Volleyball Camp (VVC) and Nemostars will represent Uganda at the Africa Volleyball Club Championship in 2015.

This, after both teams won their respective finals at the National Club Championship (NCC) in Fort Portal on Sunday.

Newcomers VVC defeated Nkumba University 3-1 (25-19, 25-23, 23-25, 25-19) to win the women championship, for their first time, earning a berth in continental volleyball next year.

“We worked for it and we have been rewarded,” said VVC’s coach and owner Hannington Nsubuga. “It was a sweet win but the tough road to play on the continent awaits us and preparations are underway to achieve that as well.”

It will be VVC’s maiden appearance on the continent as the club was established early this year. For Nemostars, this will be their third straight appearance after they defeated KAVC 3-2 to defend the NCC men’s title.

“Winning the most important titles has always been our goal,” said Nemostars’ setter Smith Okumu.
“National Club Championship is one of those important titles because it earns us a ticket to play on the continent again,” he added.

Inspired by the return of Tom Amou and libero Joseph Opeto, Nemostars rallied to a two-set lead (25-10, 25-17). But KAVC, solely relying on Daudi Okello for attack, tormented Nemostars’ block and cover, registering 25-17, 25-23 scores to force a tie breaker.

Amou, Okumu and inspirational skipper George Aporu all led the chase for the defending champions. At 8-5, KAVC recovered to trail 10-9 Nemostars’ Christopher Ajena blocked Saviour Atama to make it 11-9. Moments later Amou blocked Okello’s backcourt making it 12-9. Ajena again blocked Jensen Chestit, 13-9.

At 14-12 Ajena served for the match point, Joel Endra received beautifully but Okumu rose highest to block Chestit to take the set and game 15-12.


M: George Aporu
W: Peace Busigye
Best Blocker
M: Tom Amou
W: Irene Adeke
Best Server
M: Louis Mubangizi
W: Christine Alupo
Best Receiver
M: Emma Elanyu
W: Flavia Ndawula
Best Setter
M: Smith Okumu
Viola Akisa
Best Attacker
M: Daudi Okello
W: Astreede Agaaba

SOURCE: Daily Monitor