House approves 43 new constituencies

Parliament yesterday approved 43 new counties amid protests as it rejected the committee recommendation for 65 new counties.
Although Local Government minister Adolf Mwesige had previously presented a motion to create only 39 new counties, he amended the motion yesterday, increasing the number to 43. The minister said Cabinet approved Tooki County to be carved from Omoro County in Gulu District, Terego East in Arua District, Busiki North in Namutumba District, and Madi- Okollo Lower County in Arua District.
Before the House voted on the government motion, the minister came under pressure from members who wanted to amend the motion to include their constituencies. However, Opposition MPs accused government of creating the counties for political reasons.
The Public Service and Local Government Committee had last week approved the creation of 65 new constituencies. The MPs wanted the EC to conduct elections for Members of Parliament in the 65 new counties in the 2016 elections.


Uganda: The ‘Fast, Efficient and Incorruptible’ Ministers Forming Museveni’s Cabinet

President Yoweri Museveni’s decision to drop nearly half of his previous Cabinet, saying he wanted people who could “move fast, are efficient and incorruptible,” has become a subject of debate. One of the ministries being highlighted is Health, which kept the Ugandan President on the defensive during the election period after Kizza Besigye, the Forum […]

Uganda: How New Budget Will Affect You

If you drive, you will, with immediate effect, pay Shs100 more on each litre of fuel you buy, and if you smoke, the price per 1,000 sticks has been put at Shs50,000 and Shs80,000 for the low class and high class smokers, respectively. The changes were confirmed yesterday when the President, through Buyanja County MP […]