The presidents of the six countries in the East African Community (EAC) have approved the regional bloc's Vision 2050 blueprint which seeks to propel the bloc to prosperity in the next 35 years.

The blueprint was approved by the leaders of Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi and South Sudan at the recent 17th extraordinary EAC heads of state summit held in Arusha, Tanzania on March 2.

Uganda's third Deputy Prime Minister, Kirunda Kivejinja, told the media here Wednesday that the blueprint articulated the grouping's desired future of a prosperous, competitive, secure, stable and politically-united East Africa.

Kivenjinja, who is also Minister for EAC affairs, did not provide details of the steps to be taken to translate the EAC's vision into reality.

The March 2 summit, according to Kivejinja, also discussed modalities required to establish a sustainable financing mechanism for the community. It also directed the finance ministers of the partner States to study various options to raise the required funds to bankroll the bloc's development pans.

Uganda has welcomed the summit's decision to admit South Sudan to the community, stating that the bloc's land area, now at 2,346,717 square kilometres, nearly equal that of India.

"This will enlarge the EAC market," added Kivejinja.



SCP Launched at Ssembabule Magistrates Court

SSEMBABULE: Jubilation and ululation filled the air at Ssembabule Chief Magistrate’s Court at the launch of Small Claims Procedure (SCP).The launch was presided over by the Ssembabule Resident District Commissioner, Mr.Nixon Kabuye, who referred to the…