Uganda Does It Again… [press release]

Parliament of Uganda are the champions of the Inter-Parliamentary football tournament once again!

Parliament of Uganda beat Parliament of Tanzania 2-1 in an entertaining final played at the Sheikh Abeid Amri stadium yesterday to take the trophy away for the fourth time in consecutive.

The victors started the game on a high pace testing the Tanzania defence several times. Strikers Hon Odonga Otto and Hon Muhammad Nsereko made constant raids but the defence marshaled by Hon Adam Malima held on.

Tanzania’s goalkeeper, Hon Iddi Azzan made many stops in the first half. He was called to save a hard shot from Hon Otto in the 6th minute of the match. However, three minutes later, Hon Nsereko beat the defence to slam the ball in the net to give his side the lead.

In the second half, Parliament of Tanzania came in a more forceful side and attempted many times to penetrate the rock-solid defence of Uganda. Uganda however, made a counter attack and notched in the second goal through Hassan Tindyebwa following spadework by Hon Nsereko.

The introduction of Mark Tanza for Tanzania changed the tempo of the game with Yusuf Gogo, Yona Kirumbi and Hon Joshua Nassari combining well. It did not take long before Hon Nassari chipped in the ball to earn Tanzania the consolation goal.

Parliament of Kenya was crowned third after earning a 2-0 walk-over over EALA following the latter’s inability to field a team. According to EALA officials, several key players of the team were nursing injuries. The rules currently allow only three staff members to be fielded. The Clerk (in person) can also be fielded.

Earlier on, the EALA Organising Committee suspended the netball games owing to time constraints vis a vis the number of protests received from both the Parliament of Uganda and the Parliament of Tanzania over fielding of staff players, perceived to be active professional players.

Parliament of Uganda protested against the fielding of Ms. Imelda Hango on December 8, 2014. According to the appeal, the player in question who is a staff member of the Parliament of Tanzania played in the 1st division netball league as a goal attacker of Police Dodoma. The letter signed by Uganda’s team manager, Hon Kiiza Winnie, also states that she played in the 2013 FIBA Africa Basketball championship.

On December 11, 2014, Parliament of Tanzania on its part through a letter signed by team captain, Hon Halima J Mdee, protested against Elizabeth Namuhenge saying she was a national player and had played for a club, NBC in Uganda.

The rules governing the Inter-Parliamentary Netball games bar from participation, any staff member who plays the game at an activerofessional level. Such privilege at the moment is the preserve of Parliamentarians only.

During the awards, EALA’s Taslima Twaha was awarded the Most Valuable Player (MVP) while Hon Muhammad Nsereko earned the golden boot (top scorer) after scoring 4 goals. Parliament of Burundi won the Fair PlayMost disciplined team of the tournament.

Parliament of Tanzania won the women and men’s tug of war as well as the women’s athletics championship. Parliament of Kenya meanwhile bagged the Athletics’ men category.

Source : East African Community

Leave a Reply


NASCAR to Resume Season May 17 with 7 Races in 10 Days

NASCAR announced Thursday that it will resume its season without fans starting May 17 at Darlington Raceway in South Carolina with the premier Cup Series racing three more times in a 10-day span. NASCAR joins the UFC as the first major sports organizations to announce specific return to play plans since the coronavirus pandemic shut […]

South African Gymnast Going for More than Gold in Tokyo Olympics

JOHANNESBURG – South African gymnast Caitlin Rooskrantz is going for the gold and more. She wants to put gymnastics on the South African athletic map. Elite gymnastics is uncommon in this part of the world, and is dwarfed in popularity by sports like…