Six nominated for Amuru Woman MP Seat

Six candidates have been nominated to contest for the Amuru woman Member of Parliament seat in the upcoming November 19 by-elections.
The contestants are Ms Lucy Akello- Joint opposition, Jane Frances Okili Amongi -NRM, Suzan Adokorach Bwoch -Conservative Party, Josephine Atim – Independent, Caroline Aber – Independent and Pauline Achan also Independent.
Amuru woman MP seat fell vacant after the incumbent Ms Betty Bigombe resigned for a job with World Bank as director fragility, conflict and violence in June this year.

The Amuru Electoral Commission returning officer, Mr Sam Olet said all the contestants met the requirements before 5they were nominated.
“We have six candidates that have been nominated and we are soon having a meeting with all of them on how their campaigning programme will be conducted, to avoid the clashing of the supporters,”
During the NRM primaries, Ms Amongin garnered 7,695 votes against Ms Gloria Abalo with only 2,390 votes.

Ms Atim and Aber were thrown out of the NRM primaries, when they failed to meet the requirements thus contesting on the independent ticket.
Ms Atim also the LCV woman councilor for Atiak Sub County refused to resign from her position as the NRM constitution requires, while Ms Aber was not endorsed by the NRM party grass root structure to contest in the primaries.
The joint Opposition candidate, Ms Akello, competed with Ms Grace Auma UPC, and Concy Adoch Nyapolo DP.
General campaigns are schedule for November 6 to 18th and elections.

SOURCE: Daily Monitor

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply