Makerere votes new guild president

Parliament. Makerere University students yesterday went to polls to elect their next guild president. Eight candidates were in the race. They include Lillian Aber, Phillip Musiime, Eddy Kintu, Nicholas Nanyeenya, Samuel Komakech , JuliusTabaaro, Ivan Bwowe and Sarah Aseru,

By press time, Ivan Bwowe of the Democratic Party was in the lead and was being trailed by Phillip Musiime an Independent NRM leaning candidate.Generally, the elections were peaceful with a few skirmishes at schools where students’ names were missing on the voters register. This was at the schools of Social Sciences, Veterinary Medicine and Liberal and Performing Arts.

At the School of Social Sciences, the registrar was called in to verify the names of some of the students who were later allowed to vote.

At most of the polling stations, the turn up was good except at the School of Library and Information Sciences where by 4pm, only 350 students had voted out of the more than 1,000 registered voters.

By 5pm, the tallying process had began and final results were expected late in the evening.Adeke Anna Ebaju of Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) is the current guild president, having taken over from Ivan Kata of the Democratic Party.

The guild president serves for a one year non-renewable term. Election of guild representatives to council (GRCs) will follow the guild presidential elections.


Related Post
President Yoweri Museveni's decision to drop nearly half of his previous Cabinet, saying he wanted
If you drive, you will, with immediate effect, pay Shs100 more on each litre of
Although the Shs26 trillion Budget for the financial year 2016/17 sounds big, the Minister of

Leave a Reply