Kabugo Tipped to Win CBS FM Award

The second edition of the CBS FM Footballer of the Year search draws to a conclusion today when the winner will be unveiled at Mengo Palace during the station’s annual end of the year event tagged ‘Enkuuka.’

The three finalists are SC Victoria University’s Savio Kabugo, Allan Kyambadde of Vipers FC and KCCA FC defender Ronnie Kisekka. The winner will be decided by the player with the most votes by CBS FM listeners.

Charles Masembe, one of the panelists who compiled the shortlist, says the three players were nominated from a preliminary list of 15.

“We took our time to select the players (Kabugo, Kyambadde and Kisekka) after studying both last year’s league and Uganda Cup statistics,” said the former Fifa match official.

The awards committee is chaired by former Uganda Cranes defender Tom Lwanga and included veteran sports scribe Hassan Badru Zziwa and CBS journalists Yusuf Baliluno and Farida Bongole.

Meanwhile, CBS annual sports quiz ‘Bingwa’ is also set to conclude tonight. The final will be contested by four participants, with the champion pocketing Shs 3m on top of other prizes. The four contenders are Joachim Mukasa, Tonny Kabonge, Geofrey Segujja and Shaun Kaggwa.

Source : The Observer


NASCAR to Resume Season May 17 with 7 Races in 10 Days

NASCAR announced Thursday that it will resume its season without fans starting May 17 at Darlington Raceway in South Carolina with the premier Cup Series racing three more times in a 10-day span. NASCAR joins the UFC as the first major sports organizations to announce specific return to play plans since the coronavirus pandemic shut […]

South African Gymnast Going for More than Gold in Tokyo Olympics

JOHANNESBURG – South African gymnast Caitlin Rooskrantz is going for the gold and more. She wants to put gymnastics on the South African athletic map. Elite gymnastics is uncommon in this part of the world, and is dwarfed in popularity by sports like…