Eden Hazard named Player of the Year

Eden Hazard has been crowned the PFA Player of the Year.

The Chelsea winger was tipped by most of win the award after a storming season in the top flight for the Premier League’s most likely champions.

Hazard beat Alexis Sanchez, Philippe Coutinho, Harry Kane, David De Gea and Diego Costa to claim the prestigious prize.

Despite playing on the left-hand side, Hazard has found the net on 13 occasions during the league campaign, while also laying on a number of assists.

Pundits left, right and centre have been lauding Hazard in recent weeks, with Graeme Souness even saying that he is elusive in the same way that Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are.

Manager Jose Mourinho is a huge fan of his star man recently valuing him at a staggering £200million.

Mourinho said recently: “Put a figure on him? £100m plus one of their three best players. Or £100m each leg, because he’s very young.”

Hazard will likely pick up a Premier League winners medal to go with his new trophy, after Chelsea’s 0-0 draw with Arsenal on Sunday ensured that the Blues could win the title next weekend.


Do you think Eden Hazard deserved the player of the year award? Who do you think should have taken the award?

SOURCE: Daily Monitor


Uganda Rugby Sevens Squad for Challenger Series named

Sevens coach Tolbert Onyango has named a 12 man squad for the 2020 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series. The two legs of the inaugural World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series will be played in South America in Vintilde;a del Mar, Chile (15-16 February, 2…

Blitzboks in recovery mode with Sydney looming

The Springbok Sevens squad have their plans laid out as they prepare to tackle Argentina, Samoa and France in Pool B of the HSBC Sydney Sevens this weekend, having arrived from Hamilton, New Zealand earlier on Monday. It was an unhappy visit to the L…